Voice News

ATC rejects Imran khan’s interim bail in ECP protest case

ISLAMABAD: Imran Khan’s temporary release was revoked by an anti-terrorism court (ATC) on Wednesday because he neglected to appear in court in a case involving protests outside Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP).

ATC Judge Raja Jawad Abbas Hassan made the decision about the former premier’s absence from the ECP protest case.

Imran was ordered to appear in person by 1:30 pm after the court earlier today rejected his appeal for a medical exemption from presence.

The court gave the chairman of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) the chance to appear before it today while he was on temporary release in the case.

Imran’s attorney, Babar Awan, stood before the court during today’s hearing and made his case.

According to Babar Awan, his client was still healing from leg wounds from gunfire and could not travel on media grounds.

Imran had been granted interim bail until February 27 by the extra sessions judge, so Awan asked the court to extend Imran’s bail until that date.

He added that his client tried to go but was unable to make it, “I beg the court to extend Imran’s bail till February 27.”

Awan pleaded for one last opportunity, saying, “Imran Khan never fled from a court or the nation.” “I am prepared to present surety bonds in the amount of Rs. 10,000.”

The court has given PTI chairman one final chance to present at the hearing on February 15.

Imran will conduct a press conference today at 6 pm, PTI said on its official Twitter account minutes after the court denied PTI head bail.

It is important to note that after the ECP disqualified the former prime minister and leader of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf in the Toshakhana reference, several members of the local leadership of PTI were arrested in a case over alleged vandalism during the rallies in Islamabad.

Aamir Kayani, Wasiq Qayyum Abbasi, Raja Rashid Hafeez, Umer Tanveer Butt, Rashid Naeem Abbasi, and Raja Majid are among PTI leaders who had cases filed against them.

Imran Khan, a former prime minister and the leader of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf, was disqualified by the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) in the Toshakhana reference pursuant to Article 63(1). (p).

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *